Eight candidates in all file for District 10 race

Race features 5 Republicans, 1 Democrat; election day is Aug. 31

Bill Spinks
Waxahachie Daily Light
Pierina Otiniano

The filing deadline has passed and a field of eight candidates will run in the Texas State House District 10 special election, an open seat vacated by now Congressman Jake Ellzey.

The total includes five Republicans, one Democrat, one Libertarian, and one independent. The Democrat, Ennis resident and immigration attorney Pierina Otiniano,  announced her candidacy on Thursday.

“Our community is tired of politicians who walk inl ockstep with his/her party in Austin, pushing extreme agendas that are far out of step with Ellis and Henderson County families,” Otiniano said. “While other candidates in this race should be advocating to fix our failing electrical grid or creating jobs, they are spending their time pushing one divisive culture war after the next. We need leaders in Austin who are focused on helping families with daily challenges, not engaging in partisan fights.”

Otiniano is a first-generation American who immigrated to the United States from Peru at the age of six. She has built a career as an immigration attorney advocating for the underdog and making sure that working-people get a fair shot in our justice system.

Other publicly-declared candidates for the open seat so far are Republicans John Wray and Brian Harrison. Wray formerly held the seat for three terms before deciding not to run for re-election in 2020.The remaining candidates are:

• Independent Scott Goodwin of Waxahachie, who listed his occupation as "V.P. development"

• Republican Kevin Griffin, a Midlothian general manager

• Republican Susan Mellina Hayslip, a Waxahachie attorney

• Libertarian Matt Savino of Seven Points, who listed his occupation as "I.T. support"

• Republican Clark Wickliffe, a member of the Midlothian City Council

All candidates will appear on a single ballot, regardless of party affiliation. The top two vote-getters will advance to a runoff if no candidate receives a majority of votes.

Early voting in the special election for House District 10 will be held from Aug. 23 -27, and Election Day is scheduled for Aug. 31.