Despite a last minute change in venue, from the Waxahachie Rodeo Complex to the Cowboy Church due to inclement weather, the 8th Annual David Eggleston Memorial Rodeo was a huge success in terms of fan turnout and rodeo participation.

Ellis County’s longest running and most attended rodeo is the result of three friends coming together to honor the memory of lifelong friend David Eggleston.

On Aug. 2, 2000, Eggleston and pal Justin Phillips were riding bicycles on Howard Road when David was struck by a vehicle. He was transported to Baylor Medical Center at Ellis County by ambulance. From there he was airlifted to Children’s Medical Center in Dallas, where he died as a result of massive head trauma.

Soon after David’s death, Bailey, Phillips and Jake Fincher, along with family and friends, decided the best way to honor Eggleston’s memory was to put together a memorial rodeo.

Winners from the 2007 edition of the Eggleston Memorial were:

Bull Riding

1. Chris Yates

Breakaway Roping

1. Jackie Dunn

Chute Dogging

1. Cody Ferguson

2. Bryan McKneely

Tie-Down Calf Roping

1. Todd Willis

2. Randy Harrington

3. Mike Matthews

4. Timmy Brooks

5. Richie Carroll

6. Clint Wade

Barrel Racing

1. Rebecca Rockett

2. Rachel Underwood

3. Brandi Rawlins

4. Pam Underwood

5. Pat Little Soldier

6. Lauri Hewitt

7. Audra Williams

8. Amy Lee Fetch

9. Jackie Dunn

Jr. Barrel Racing

1. Codi Robinson

2. Casey Carroll

3. Cody Ramsey

4. Morgan Hudson

Team Roping

1. Porkchop Thomas/Ben Winters

Steer Riding

Steers 6, Cowboys 0

Mutton Busting

1. Tie - Douglas Taylor, Jr. and Gannon Sigler

Bull Riding

1. Chris Yates

Scholarship recipients for the 8th Annual Eggleston Memorial were Alishia Pruitt and Daniel Bieber, both of Midlothian.

E-mail Jim at