Waxahachie officially concluded its 2006 football season Thursday with its annual postseason banquet at the Waxahachie Civic Center.

The banquet’s keynote speaker, Neal Jeffrey, gave the players, parents and others attending what he referred to as a “pep talk” like one a coach might deliver before a big game or play.

Jeffrey, a former Baylor quarterback and self-pronounced stutterer, told those in attendance that, “life will give you hardships and handicaps, it’s what you make of those times that define your life.”

He also talked about the Olympic motto of “Higher, Swifter, Stronger,” saying, “no matter what you’ve done in the past always aim to be higher, move swifter and be stronger next time.”

The team also handed out yearly awards and named its 2006 captains as voted on by the team.

The first award handed out was the Dave Williams Excellence Award, given to the top student trainer each year.

For the second year in a row, Sarah Minton won the award.

As for the football awards, Jacob Hinds won the Outstanding Scholastic Achievment Award, Kevin McCluskey was given the Jerry McLemore Head Hunter Award, Tim Hunt was given the Most Dedicated Indian Award, Boomer Collins was awarded the Outstanding Leadership Award and Mark Ballance was honored with the Savage Club Champion.

The coaches then handed out position awards.

Jason Hannan was named the Outstanding Lineman, Justin Johnson won the Outstanding Special Teams Award, Kinnorise Dickerson was the Outstanding Offensive Player and James Sterns was the Outstanding Defensive Player.

The team’s Most Valuable Player Award went to Aldrick Robinson.

After all the awards were handed out, the coaches announced the 2006 captains, which were voted on by the team.

The captains were Hannan, McCluskey, Collins and Duke Bohall.