MAYPEARL — The Lady Panthers' and Bulldogs' basketball season came to an end, but their accolades certainly didn't.

A consortium of athletic directors and head coaches from Blooming Grove, Grandview, Keene, Maypearl, Mildred, Palmer Rice and Rio Vista High Schools selected the 2017 All-District first and second teams and honorable mentions, per a Friday press release.

Almost half of those 29 girls came from two cities.

Maypearl senior Sheltyn Campbell, the District 17-3A Defensive Player of the Year, joined MVP Crosbi Jentsch (Grandview), Offensive Player of the Year Mallory Stephens (Keene), New Comer Of the Year Hanna Thomas (Keene) and Sixth Man of the Year Tyler Pyburn (Blooming Grove) on the list of superlatives.

Grandview Head Coach Steve Montgomery was selected as the district's Coach of the Year.

According to MaxPreps standings and statistics, Campbell (57 stls, 1.9 spg) was second on Maypearl in steals behind Meredith Keasler's 60. Campbell also led the team in assists, averaging 3.5 per game.

Dominique "Dom" Flores, who is the Lady Bulldogs' leading scorer at 15.9 ppg, and Maypearl's senior-junior combo of Maddie Creech (11.2 ppg) and Kynlee Herrin (9.2 ppg) joined seven other girls and reserved a spot on the All-District First Team. The Maypearl and Grandview programs had the most girls on the team with two each.

Ellis County had five girls — Keasler (Maypearl), freshman Sol Cabuto (Maypearl), junior Sierra Stone (Palmer), senior Jo Jo Davidson (Palmer) and senior Teryn Pritchett (Palmer) — notch All-District Second Team honors to their career resume belt.

Keasler was Maypearl's steals leader and the team's second-leading rebounder behind Cabuto. Palmer's Pritchet (10.8 rpg) was the team's second-leading rebounder depite playing only 17 of the 34 games her teammates did.

Freshman Tiffany Sadler finished first in the Lady Bulldogs' statistical category with 255. At the almost 11 rebounds per game Pritchet was producing, though, the senior would have finished with 354 rebounds sans a hand injury that sidelined her for nearly a month.

Cabuto, who scored 6.9 ppg and ripped down 6.8 rpg, was the only freshman on the All-District Second Team. Keasler was one of four juniors — joining Blooming Grove's Breanna Horner, Palmer's Stone and Rice's Evelyn Robles — crack the district list.

Maypearl juniors Phylicia Grimes and Alyssa Holder were the district's only two honorable mentions.

While Palmer Head Coach Ted Shurtleff will lose four of his five starters and will have to rebuild around Stone, his incumbent star, and a budding one in Sadler, Maypearl and sideline general Greg Kudrna will be well stocked with sharpshooting talent despite the absence of Campbell and Creech.

Marcus S. Marion can be reached for story idea submissions or concerns at (469) 517-1456. Follow him on Twitter at @MarcusMarionWNI.