COLLEGE STATION, Texas (AP) _ Carlisle Baxter Rathburn III has been named the third president of Texas A&M University-Texarkana.

The Texas A&M University Board of Regents made the announcement Wednesday. Rathburn will begin the job on July 14.

Rathburn was selected as the sole finalist for the position at the March Board of Regents meeting.

He previously was president and chief executive officer of Savannah Technical College in Savannah, Ga. He has also served as president and CEO of Galveston College in Galveston.

Copyright 2008 The Associated Press.