Nominations for the Texas 2006-2007 “Teacher of the Year” award are being accepted through March 1.

The award is sponsored by Teachers’ Insurance Plan, a car insurance program exclusively for members of the educational community.

The award will include $1,000 to the winning teacher and a $500 grant to that teacher’s school. The state winner will also be eligible for a national award that includes a special recognition and a $2,500 travel certificate.

Last year’s state winner was Elizabeth Charbonnet, a fourth-grade teacher at Lake-way Elementary School in Lakeway.

Teachers, students and parents can nominate any of the state’s more than 315,000 accredited teachers. Nomination forms are available online at

To nominate an educator or make a self-nomination, explain in 250 words or less why this teacher should be the Teacher of the Year. Nominees will be judged on their ability to motivate students, their special talents and their contribution to their school, students or educational community.

Winners will be announced at the start of the next school year.

Teachers’ Insurance Plan is underwritten by licensed members of the Response Insurance Group of Companies, as authorized by law.