Photo submitted

The AHS Honor Chorale was one of only 12 groups to earn a coveted sweepstakes trophy at the UIL Region 7 Concert and Sight-Reading Contest April 26 in Weatherford. AHS chorale director Edward Smith said only 28 of the 40 chorale members actually made the trip due to other conflicts. “Those 28 students did a magnificent job of representing AHS and the community,” Smith said. “They received a first-division, superior rating from each of the three concert judges as well as a first-division, superior rating from each of the three sight-reading judges.” Smith said 55 choirs participated in the April 26 event, and AHS was the only Class 4A choir earning perfect marks from all the judges. Members of the sweepstakes-winning choir include Shandel Abshire, Kayla Berry, Amanda Burrow, Amber Deist, Nathan Donovan, Heather Duckworth, Tyler Duckworth, Amanda Estes, Sara Fischer, Anthony Garcia, Kathryn Gaskill, Randy Head, Sarah Herrera, Lerin Hoback, Billie Johnson, Layne Kight, Daniel Kil, Summer Ladd, Auston McIntosh, Chris Morrow, Carlee Olson, Matthew Puccio, Joanna Rodarte, Victor Toruno, Jake Williams, Jessica Woodard, Johnny Yates, Stephanie Yates and Robyn Young.