The Waxahachie Daily Light is proud to announce its second annual All-Ellis County cross country teams as part of its countywide celebration of high school sports all-stars.

These 60 student-athletes and three head coaches are featured in an all-color graphic on Pages A6 and A7 of this weekend’s paper.

The Daily Light staff began the All-Ellis County high school all-star awards program last year. These include awards for individual players and coaches of the year.

Finalists for superlative awards for cross country are being announced today; the winners will be announced at the 2020 All-Ellis County All-Star Preps awards banquet. This event will be held Thursday evening, June 11 at the Waxahachie Civic Center and will honor the top athletes from 14 high schools within the county.

The banquet will also feature keynote speaker Emmitt Smith, the legendary former Dallas Cowboys running back and member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For cross country, all state and regional meet qualifiers were selected. Rankings are based on placement in each championship meet with consideration taken to times posted throughout the season. In the case of the girls, in which Class 5A and 6A run 5,000-meter races and 4A and below run two-mile races, the times were extrapolated to provide a comparison.

This year’s All-Ellis County volleyball team will be announced in next weekend’s Daily Light, and the football team will be announced the weekend of Feb. 16.

Members of the All-Ellis County 2019-2020 Cross Country Teams are:

Coach of Year finalists

Joey Foster, Midlothian

Justin Burns, Life Waxahachie

Michael Chambers, Italy


Athlete of Year Finalists

Emma Curry, Waxahachie

Renee Elliott, Midlothian Heritage

Charzell Williams, Life Waxahachie

First team

Cori Morgan, Waxahachie

Keila Finnestad, Midlothian

Rachel Allen, Midlothian Heritage

Emely Salazar, Avalon

Evelyn Rodriguez, Life Waxahachie

Second team

Alyson Moore, Waxahachie

Keeley Hearron, Waxahachie

Avalon Mitchell, Midlothian

Autumn Tennes, Midlothian

Alexandra Schmidt, Midlothian Heritage

Kaylee Norwood, Midlothian Heritage

Kayla Moore, Midlothian Heritage

Caitlynn Freyman, Maypearl

Faith Adams, Maypearl

Morgan McAlister, Maypearl

Shaniaya Johnson, Italy

Kerri Scott, Italy

LaKota Townly, Italy

Lizzie Rodriguez, Avalon

Honorable mention

Charley Hearron, Waxahachie

Cheyenne Corbitt, Midlothian

Tkai Strickland, Midlothian

Faith Collins, Maypearl

Whitney Stansell, Maypearl

Jada Williams, Italy

Brooklyn Steinmetz, Italy


Athlete of Year Finalists

Tanner Henderson, Midlothian

Ethen Agreda, Midlothian Heritage

Brody Townly, Italy

First team

Sam Molina, Waxahachie

Seth Swick, Midlothian

Sergio Flores, Red Oak

Joseph Orndorff, Milford

Jordan Kiefer, Ovilla Christian

Second team

Julius Luna, Waxahachie

Wesley Wright, Midlothian

Sebastian Calderon, Red Oak

Malachi Klor, Midlothian Heritage

Garrett Garvin, Midlothian Heritage

Jackson Sibley-Maxwell, Waxahachie Life

Leo Morales, Palmer

Josh Meachum, Palmer

Andrew Leach, Palmer

Seth Ramsey, Maypearl

Brandon Cooper, Italy

Jacob Muniz, Italy

Prestyn Tuberville, Avalon

Mark Nicholas, Ovilla Christian

Ethan Pickrell, Ovilla Christian

Honorable mention

Caden Grisham, Midlothian

Trenton Blackerby, Midlothian

Brent Penwarden, Midlothian Heritage

Noah Wagnon, Midlothian Heritage

Jesus Rodriguez, Palmer

Adam Leach, Palmer

Kevin Rasberry, Italy

Evan Cunningham, Italy