Colleyville Heritage shortstop Bobby Witt, who led his team to a state championship, is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 5A player of the year.

Witt, who batted .482 with 15 home runs and 55 RBI, signed with the Kansas City Royals after they drafted him second overall.

Midlothian graduate Anthony Ferrante was named the TSWA 5A third-team catcher.

Ferrante signed an NLI to continue his baseball career at Hill College, a Division-I junior college in Hillsboro.

Ferrante currently led the 5A regional finalists Panthers with five home runs, 12 doubles, 42 hits, a .382 batting average in 106 at-bats. He also led the team with 30 RBIs over his 110 at-bats and 38 games played.

Midlothian head baseball coach Ray Hydes previously noted Ferrante is a person of high character and exceptional work ethic, which will result in a successful collegiate career.

Ferrante was also named the All-Ellis County second-team catcher.


Pitchers — Austin Glaze, Colleyville Heritage, sr.; Jack Brinley, Georgetown, sr.; (tie) Jacob Meador, Burleson Centennial, sr., and Ryan Bogusz, Frisco Lone Star, sr.

Relief pitcher — Cason Gregory, Cleburne, jr.

Catcher — Nate Rombach, Mansfield Legacy, sr.

First baseman — Chandler Freeman, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

Second baseman — Juan Rivera, Sharyland Pioneer, fr.

Shortstop — Bobby Witt, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

Third baseman — Mason Greer, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

Outfielders — Carson Carpenter, Magnolia West, sr.; Ty Tilson, Georgetown, sr.; Bobby Roberts, Lubbock Monterey, sr.

Designated hitter — (tie) Corbin Langham, Amarillo, sr., and Jacob Garza, Corpus Christi King, sr.

Player of the Year — Witt, Colleyville Heritage

Coach of the Year — Alan McDougal, Colleyville Heritage


Pitchers — Jared Southard, Leander Rouse, sr.; Jonathan Lugo, Sharyland Pioneer, sr.; (tie) Matthew Haley, Joshua, sr., and Aidan Caputi, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

Relief pitcher — Rece Parker, Denton, sr.

Catcher — Nicholas Balsano, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

First baseman — Hambleton Oliver, Corpus Christi Calallen, sr.

Second baseman — Eric Oakes, Tomball, sr.

Shortstop — Rhett Maynard, Amarillo, sr.; Cole Posey, Georgetown, sr.

Third baseman — Evan Maldonado, Sharyland Pioneer, jr.

Outfielders — Garrison Berkley, Aledo, jr.; Huberto Jimenez, Dallas Sunset, jr.; Britt Logan, Colleyville Heritage, sr.

Designated hitter — Dawson Barnes, Burleson Centennial, jr.


Pitchers — Cameron Hauch, Burleson, sr.; Connor Phillips, Magnolia West, sr.; (tie) Isaiah Rhodes, McKinney North, sr.; Rome Shubert, Santa Fe, jr.; Ian Weil, Boerne Champion, sr.; and Micah Burke, Corsicana, sr.

Relief pitcher — Davis Powell, Lufkin, sr.

Catcher — (tie) Jarred Gibson, Lubbock Cooper, sr.; Anthony Ferrante, Midlothian, sr.; and JD Gregson, Frisco Wakeland, jr.

First baseman — (tie) Cameron Baker, Azle, sr.; Brady Delgado, Kerrville Tivy, sr.; and Martin Vazquez, Sharyland, jr.

Second baseman — (tie) Zach Almendarez, Corpus Christi Calallen, jr., and Ramiro Cervera, Boerne Champion, sr.

Shortstop — (tie) Nathan Rooney, Mansfield Legacy, sr., and Jacob Rosales, Sharyland Pioneer, sr.

Third baseman — (tie) Jeffrey David, Georgetown, sr.; Arcadio Frausto, Amarillo, jr.; and Logan Kohler, Little Elm, sr.

Outfielders — Micah Burke, Corsicana, sr.; Luke Boyers, Boerne Champion, sr.; Maxwell Dias, Porter, sr.

Designated hitter — (tie) Tyler Lee, Hallsville, soph., and Tristan Moreno, Seguin, soph.