Pitcher and shortstop Alex Magers, who led D'Hanis to a state championship, is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class A baseball player of the year.

Magers was 9-1 with a 1.13 earned run average for 25-4 Cowboys. The Texas A&M signee also batted .474 with three home runs and 30 runs batted in.

Third baseman Dillon Martin and shortstop Rhett Newton, Avalon, jr. — both incoming seniors at Avalon — were named to the TSWA third team.

Martin led the Eagles with eight doubles and five triples on the season. He also scored a team-high 40 runs and struck out just nine times with 11 walks.

He also posted an impressive .494 batting average and .565 on-base percentage with 39 hits in 79 at-bats.

On the bump, Martin struck out a team-high 95 batters over 59.0 innings of work. He led the team with a 7-2 record and a 1.42 ERA. He allowed just 15 walks and 12 earned runs (14 unearned) on 41 hits.

Newton recorded a team-best .522 batting average with 36 hits over his 69 at-bats. He slugged seven doubles, one triple, scored 39 runs and drove in 23 Eagles.

This marks the second-consecutive year for Newton to receive a TSWA All-State nod, as he was named a first-team designated hitter in 2018.

Martin was also named as the All-Ellis County first-team utility player, while Newton was named an All-Ellis County honorable mention.



Pitchers — Alex Magers, D'Hanis, sr.; Dawson Fortner, La Poynor, sr.; Kyle Looper, D'Hanis, jr.

Catcher — Bode Stewart, New Home, soph.

First baseman — Zane Allen, Borden County, sr.

Second baseman — Garrett Allen, Wells, sr.

Shortstop — Anthony Coy, Ira, jr.

Third baseman — Matthew Pevehouse, Abbott, jr.

Outfielders — Justin Lambright, Trenton, sr.; Blaine Coats, La Poynor, fr.; Josh Rivera, D'Hanis, sr.

Designated hitter — (tie) Chris Navarro, Coolidge, sr.; Nate Deel, Baird, soph.

Player of the year — Magers, D'Hanis

Coach of the year — Todd Craft, D'Hanis


Pitchers — Karson Valentine, Ira, jr.; Brayden Vaught, Dodd City, soph.; Matthew Pevehouse, Abbott, jr.

Catcher — Dawson Turner, La Poynor, sr.

First baseman — Jaeden VanDamme, D'Hanis, jr.

Second baseman — Alex Pieper, Round Top-Carmine, soph.

Shortstop — Riley Owens, Shamrock, jr.

Third baseman — Nathan Goodwin, Ira, jr.

Outfielders — Kadyn Johnson, Abbott, soph.; Dawson Fortner, La Poynor, sr.; Zayne Kennon, Dodd City, jr.

Designated hitter — Jett Riley, La Poynor, jr.


Pitchers — Dillon Jones, Dodd City, jr.; Jakari Hadnot, Wells, sr.; Riley Owens, Shamrock, jr.

Catcher — Logan Tucker, Wells, sr.

First baseman — Dillon Martin, Avalon, jr.

Second baseman — Solomon Rodriguez, D'Hanis, jr.

Shortstop — Rhett Newton, Avalon, jr.

Third baseman — Rylan Rogers, Baird, jr.

Outfielders — Blake Buckelew, New Home, jr.; Laith Elredy, Neches, sr.; Rode Newton, Graford, sr.

Designated hitter — (tie) Ethan Reyes, D'Hanis, fr.; Tyler Welch, Perrin-Whitt, fr.