Three individuals were sworn into office as members of the Red Oak ISD Board of Trustees during the regular May meeting this week.

Newcomers Brian Sebring and Penny Story joined re-elected trustee, Dr. Joy Shaw, at the Monday meeting to repeat the oath of office.

This is Shaw's fourth three-year term in Place 1 after running unopposed in the election. Shaw is a former employee and Red Oak High alumni. She joined the board in 2010 and has served as the board secretary and as a Texas Association of School Board delegate.

As a PTA Life Member, Shaw dedicated 35 years of work to ROISD as a teacher, coach, principal and director of special education. Shaw has been honored as the Texas Professional Educators' Administrator of the Year, Red Oak Chamber Citizen of the Year and a ROISD Distinguished Alumni.

Sebring was elected unopposed for Place 2 for a three-year term and replaced John Hawkins who has been a trustee since 2004, most recently as the board president.

Sebring was part of the first class of graduates from the inaugural Red Oak Community Partners Academy where he learned about the various aspects of district operations over a six-month span.

The account manager for United Site Services is married to a Red Oak High School alumni with three children who attend school in ROISD. He also serves as president of the Red Oak Pee Wee Football Association.

The final trustee sworn in was Story, who was elected in a contested race for the one-year term to complete the unexpired term in Place 5. Henry Lozano previously served in this place and resigned in December 2018 due to family needs.

Story is a member of the inaugural 2018-19 Red Oak ISD Community Advisory Council, which meets monthly with ROISD superintendent Dr. Michael Goddard.

In a ROISD issued press release, Story described herself as a "Grandmother and real estate broker defending the basic principles on which our country was founded - life, liberty, property and lawful, personal responsibility in pursuit of happiness."

After the oath of office, the board reorganized and voted on officer positions. John Anderson (Place 3) was approved as the board president, Eric Thompson (Place 6) will serve as vice president and Melanie Peterson was voted as secretary (Place 7). This is the first time for Thompson to serve in an officer role.