Eleven Waxahachie Indians landed on one of three All-District 7-6A teams following the program's first-ever season in Class 6A.

Josh Sterns, Arundell Briggs and Ladarius Henderson all received placement on the All-District 7-6A first team, while Campbell Sullivan, Keshawn Anderson and BJ Hawkins found their names on the second team.

DJ Hollywood, AJ McGruder, Alejandro Moreno, Hawkins, Preston Hodge and Quincy Johnson received honorable mention recognition.

Waxahachie finished the season 1-9, with the lone victory coming in week one on the road against Ennis, 54-32.

The Indians new district was often referred to as the "district of doom" — a moniker first unofficially assigned to District 10-5A in 2016 — and saw (9-1) Cedar Hill, (8-2) DeSoto, (7-2) Mansfield Lake Ridge and (5-4) Mansfield Summit advance to the postseason.

The all-district teams were released after Lake Ridge fell to Tascosa on Friday in the third round of the 6A playoffs, 43-34, at Grande Communications Stadium in Midland.

All-district teams and superlatives are voted on by the seven head coaches. A head coach cannot vote for his own player but can nominate any player for a superlative or team that he sees fit.

As a team, the Indians passed for 1,468 yards and 17 touchdowns during district play, which outpaced their oppositions' combined mark of 1,098 yards and 15 scores. Waxahachie also rushed for 814 yards and three scores but did surrender 2,027 yards and 29 touchdowns on 252 carries.

Over their seven 7-6A games, the Indians finished fourth in total offense (2,325 yards) behind DeSoto (3,146), Lake Ridge (2,684) and Cedar Hill (2,397). They were also second in passing (1,535 yards) behind Lake Ridge (1,551).


Arundell Briggs (guard) and Ladarius Henderson (tackle) anchored the Indians offensive line throughout the season and were rewarded with first-team placement. Both were District 10-5A honorable mentions last season.

Josh Sterns was dynamite with the football in his hands this season — and also held his own as a safety on defense.

The wide receiver finished the season with 31 rushing attempts for 190 yards and one touchdown, while also adding team-highs in receptions (37), receiving yards (603), receiving touchdowns (8), all-purpose yards (1,054), yards from scrimmage (793) and scoring (48).

His 522 receiving yards on 37 catches during 7-6A play were both second-most, trailing only La'vontae Shenault of DeSoto.

The junior do-it-all standout is the first of the Sterns family to land on the all-district first team since, well, his elder brother Jerreth (Houston Baptist) last season.


Wide receivers Campbell Sullivan and Keshawn Anderson found their way to the 7-6A second-team after two vastly different seasons — Sullivan began the year as a quarterback and Anderson missed several games due to an injury.

Sullivan finished tied for fourth in the district with 25 catches for 300 yards and three touchdowns, while Anderson finished the year with 23 catches for 409 yards and two touchdowns.

Sullivan also added 205 rushing yards and two scores on 39 carries. The junior completed 7-of-9 passes for 150 yards and two touchdowns, as well.

BJ Hawkins, a sophomore, landed on the second-team as a kick returner after he averaged 25 yards per kick during the district late with a long of 41 yards. He amassed 175 yards on his seven district kick returns.


Waxahachie linemen AJ McGruder(guard) and Alejandro Moreno (tackle) found their names on the honorable mention list for the second consecutive season.

Junior quarterback DJ Hollywood also received placement on the 7-6A honorable mention team.

Hollywood finished the district slate with 1,294 yards and seven touchdowns on 104-of-189 passing (55 percent). His yardage total was second only to Shun'Darion Ward of DeSoto (1,505). The junior's seven touchdown pass was also second-most in 7-6A, trailing only Drake Logan (Grand Prairie) and Brysen McKinney (Summit), who both tossed eight touchdowns but combined for just 1,523 yards on 134 completions (270 attempts).

Oddly enough, Hollywood also finished second in average yards per punt (34.86) behind the 46.72 yards per attempt by Jose Carranza (Grand Prairie).


Due to various injuries and other roster adjustments, the Indians started nine underclassmen on defense in their final game of the season, which included seven sophomores.

Three of those sophomores were defensive backs Hawkins, Preston Hodge and Quincy Johnson, who were named All-District 7-6A honorable mentions.