Out of more than 100 entries, the Texas Downtown Association recognized two Waxahachie attractions.

Laurie Mosley, director of the Waxahachie Convention and Visitors Bureau, and Downtown Development Director Anita Brown, attended the 2018 Texas Downtown Conference in Corpus Christi in early November. An awards gala — Texas Downtown Association President’s Awards — was held in conjunction with the conference where outstanding projects, places and people are acknowledged around Texas.

Two Amigos Taqueria and Franklin Street Townhomes were awarded the 2018 Best New Construction award for a town with under 50,000 population. Additionally, Waxahachie was recognized with the 2018 Best Promotional Event award for "Wonderful Women in Waxahachie." Mosley and Brown also accepted the 2018 People’s Choice Best New Construction award.

The City of Waxahachie explained in a press release that these projects have impacted the downtown community.

“First, the Two Amigos Taqueria building provides a favorite downtown restaurant with more than twice the dining space so more people can enjoy it more often,” the press release stated. In addition to relocating in to a modernized structure, the hours of operation extended to allow more business.

The townhomes, developed by Chris Acker, have increased downtown residency. Franklin Townhomes was nominated for the award in phase one, which included six units. Four more will be built across the street as phase two.

“Luxury living downtown brings people with ample disposable income to patronize the restaurants, boutiques, art galleries and other establishments that are currently downtown,” read the release.

“I believe God sent me the dream of Franklin Township to prove to myself and the great people of Waxahachie that it is not only possible but also necessary that we achieve your goals,” Acker told the city. “When surrounded by great people who support you and your ideas, anything is achievable.”

A total of 111 entries were submitted in 11 different categories from communities across Texas.

Judges reviewed entries online and then met in person to make their final selection of award finalists and winners. The panel included Britin Bostick, Stewardship Strategies; Ken Johnson, Michael Hsu Office of Architecture; Julie Kunkle, Austin Monthly; Lisa O’Neill, Breakaway Public Relations; and David Teel, Texas Tourism Industry Association.

The Texas Downtown Association was established in 1985 to connect and serve communities that are committed to downtown vitality. The organization is an independent, statewide nonprofit that represents cities and towns of all sizes, economic development corporations, chambers of commerce, local organizations, small businesses and individuals.

For more information about the President’s Awards or other programs of the Texas Downtown Association, please visit www.texasdowntown.org. Applications for the 2019 awards program will open in the spring.