The Collin Street Bakery and Texas Sports Writers Association Class A all-state teams were announced Wednesday and Avalon Eagle designated hitter Rhett Newton was named to the all-state first team.

Newton helped the Eagles to a 19-6 record and several weeks in the top-5A of the THSBCA rankings.

He slugged a team-high 34 hits in 79 at-bats (.430 BA). He also recorded two doubles and two triples while driving in 17 runs and scoring 35 more.

Newton struck out just nine times on the season and drew 13 free passes.

Slocum senior pitcher Taylor Hunt who led the Mustangs to their first state baseball championship was named the player of the year on the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class A all-state baseball team.

Hunt was 9-1 with a 2.33 earned run average with 74 strikeouts in 54 innings for 22-8 Slocum.


Pitchers: Taylor Hunt, Slocum, sr.; Brandan Brown, Abbott, sr.; Jacob Schley, Fayetteville, sr.

Relief pitcher: Taylor Lomax, Slocum, sr.

Catcher: Trent Padron, Gorman, sr.

First baseman: Braxton Barnes, Borden County, sr.

Second baseman: Randy Guess, Slocum, soph.

Shortstop: Hunter Pope, Abbott, sr.

Third baseman: Alex Magers, D’Hanis, jr.

Outfielders: Joseph Byrnes, Slocum, sr.; Nolan Kaska, Abbott, sr.; Braden Rohde, Fayetteville, sr.

Designated hitter: Rhett Newton, Avalon, soph.

Player of the year: Hunt, Slocum

Coach of the year: Bryant Latham, Slocum


Pitchers: Karson Valentine, Ira, soph.; Keagen Grantham, New Home, sr.; Alex Magers, D’Hanis, jr.;

Relief pitcher: Damon Gerik, Fayetteville, sr.

Catcher: Matthew Urbanovsky, Abbott, sr.

First baseman: Zack Stanfield, Trinidad, sr.

Second baseman: Ethan Martinez, New Home, sr.

Shortstop: Reed Bundy, New Home, sr.

Third baseman: Austin Sarraf, Slocum, jr.

Outfielders: Zayne Kennon, Dodd City, soph.; Trace Richey, Borden County, sr.; Dylan Martinez, New Home, jr.

Designated hitter: Trevor Tidball, Union Hill, soph.


Pitchers: Trent Padron, Gorman, sr.

Relief pitcher: Zane Allen, Borden County, jr.

Catchers: Zane Allen, Borden County, jr.; Johnny Ayala, Trinidad, sr.; Damon Gerik, Fayetteville, sr.; Jacob Hutto, D’Hanis, jr.; Isaiah Solis, Springlake-Earth, jr.; Bode Stewart, New Home, fr..

First baseman: Keagan Grantham, New Home, sr.

Shortstops: Jerrette Brown, Fayetteville, sr.; Anthony Coy, Ira, soph.; Riley Owens, Shamrock, soph.; Colton Peters, Slocum, sr.; Karson Valentine, Ira, soph.

Third basemen: Nathan Goodwin, Ira, soph.; Matthew Pevehouse, Abbott, soph.

Outfielders: Riley Griffith, Union Hill, jr.; Jason Turner, Dodd City, soph.

Designated hitter: Brandan Brown, Abbott, sr.