Waxahachie Mayor Kevin Strength will preside over the North Central Texas Council of Governments for the next year after being elected president of the regional planning agency’s 17-member executive board.

The executive board is the policy-making body for the agency, which serves the local governments in North Central Texas, a region of more than seven million people.

Strength was elected Friday, June 15 by North Central Texas locally elected officials at NCTCOG’s 52nd annual meeting of its member governments.

Strength assumes the leadership of NCTCOG from Tom Lombard, a councilmember in the City of North Richland Hills, who was elected to the one-year term in June 2017. He will continue on the NCTCOG board as the 2018–19 past president. Wise County Judge J. D. Clark is the new vice-president and City of Prosper Mayor Ray Smith is secretary/treasurer. The new officers will serve in their positions through June 2019.

Strength was first elected to NCTCOG’s Executive Board in 2014 and has served as director, secretary/treasurer and vice president before being elected President. He was elected to the Waxahachie City Council in 2010 and has served as mayor since 2014.

Since his election, Strength has been instrumental in many improvements within Waxahachie, including the expansion of Interstate Highway-35E, the new state-of-the-art Waxahachie High School, and Baylor Scott and White Medical Center — Waxahachie. His contributions to the Waxahachie economic development efforts will serve the city well for many years to come.

In his acceptance remarks as the new NCTCOG president, Strength thanked the 2017–18 members who rotated off the executive board including, past president Lissa Smith, former mayor pro tem of the City of Plano; Bruce Wood, Kaufman County Judge; and Doug Athas, mayor of the City of Garland for their leadership and welcomed the new members to the 2018-19 executive board.

Strength also invited member government officials and staffs to participate in the monthly meetings at NCTCOG and said, “I look forward to our monthly meetings where together we look for positive solutions beyond our individual borders and regionally cooperate to make sound decisions to benefit the region.”

In addition to the four officers, 13 Directors were elected to the 17 member NCTCOG board including, Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins, Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitley, City of Dallas council member Lee Kleinman, City of Fort Worth council member Kelly Allen-Gray, Collin County Judge Keith Self, Denton County Commissioner Bobbie Mitchell, City of Arlington council member Kathryn Wilemon, Rockwall County Judge David Sweet, City of Irving Mayor Richard Stopfer, City of Richardson Mayor Paul Voelker, City of North Richland Hills council member Tito Rodriguez, City of DeSoto Mayor Curtistene McCowan, and Town of Trophy Club Mayor Nick Sanders.

State Rep. Ron Simmons, of District 65, is the NCTCOG Ex-Officio member.