ELLIS COUNTY — With over 20 seats available in six of the largest Ellis County towns, the application deadline for those coveted school board and city council places is quickly approaching. Any party interested in a position on either of the two boards in Waxahachie, Red Oak, Midlothian, Ennis, Maypearl or Italy will need to have all information submitted to the respective offices by close of business Friday, Feb. 17.

Ellis County Elections Administrator Jana Onyon and staff will conduct all of the May 6 regular and special elections, which begin with Early Voting Monday, April 24. The final day of the early voting period is Tuesday, May 2 and Election Day is Saturday, May 6 from 7 a.m. — 7 p.m. Each city will host at least one local polling place.


The Waxahachie City Council has two at-large seats up for election in May — currently occupied by council members Chuck Beatty and Mary Lou Shipley. According to Waxahachie City Secretary Laurie Saunders, both Beatty and Shipley have filed for re-election. However, all others interested in unseating the incumbents will need to have applications submitted to Waxahachie City Hall, located at 401 S. Rogers St., by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17.

There are also two seats up for election on the Waxahachie ISD Board of Trustees, which Wes Winn and Kim Kriegel currently occupy. Both Winn and Kriegel were elected in 2014.

Currently, Winn serves on the community relations and construction committees, while Kriegel is on the individual and group committees for academics. The deadline to file is 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17. Applications are available at and must be returned to the WISD Administration Building, located at 411 N. Gibson St.


The City of Red Oak is the only one of the six municipalities highlighted that does not have a seat available on its city council. However, there are three places to be filled on the Red Oak ISD Board of Trustees.

The seats to be filled are Place 3, Place 4, and Place 5, which are currently occupied by assistant secretary John Anderson, board member Johnny Knight and president Henry Lozano, respectively.

According to their board member profiles found on the ROISD website, Anderson, seat 3, is a 1983 graduate of Red Oak High School. He has served on the board since 2002, including several times as the vice president. Knight, place 4, is completing his first term as an ROISD board member but has previously served on the ROISD Growth Management Committee and Bond Oversight Committee. Lozano, seated in place 5, joined the board in 2005. His profile states he was elected to serve in his current role as president of the board in 2011 after assisting on the ROISD Education Foundation Grant and Growth Management Committees, as well as a stint as the board secretary.

Applications must be delivered or received by ROISD no later than 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17. The Red Oak ISD Education Service Center is located at 109 W. Red Oak Road, and letters should be to the attention of Brenda Nicholson.

The district will hold a drawing for ballot position Monday, Feb. 27 at 10 a.m. at the ROISD Education Service Center.


Residents of Midlothian have an opportunity to file for one of three city positions or two Midlothian ISD Board of Trustee seats.

Those who wish to run for mayor, councilmember place 1 or place 2 for the City of Midlothian must have paperwork delivered by hand or mail to Midlothian City Hall, located at 104 W. Avenue E., by 5 p.m. Friday. Packets and more information can also be found there.

For the two MISD Board of Trustees positions, which are seats six and seven this year, applications are due by 4 p.m. Friday. However, packets and more information for the MISD Board of Trustees positions can be found at the Midlothian ISD Administration Building, located at 100 Walter Stephenson Road.

The two school board seats are for three-year terms. As previously reported by the Mirror, MISD Board of Trustee Place 7 is currently vacant after Tom Moore's resignation was accepted during the regular session on Dec. 16.


six seats are nearing the end of their respective terms on the Maypearl City Council and Maypearl ISD Board of Trustees.

Applications for four seats on the Maypearl City Council must be received by Friday, Feb. 17 by 4:30 p.m. at Maypearl City Hall, located at 104 E. Second. Maypearl Mayor Adele Mooney and councilmembers Karen Colson, David Esselman and Michael Harris currently occupy the seats.

As for the school board, Tricia Ikard and Charles Frame are seeing their terms come to a close.

According to their profiles found on the Maypearl ISD website, Ikard has served on the board since May 2007 after moving to Maypearl in 1994. Her and her husband, Todd, have been small business owners since 1998 and have three children.

Frame and his wife of 22 years, Kristine, are 16-year Maypearl residents and have three children. He has an extensive background in business, leading three business units of GE Capital where his MISD profile states he was "responsible for over $300 million in portfolio with $50-70 million in new business originations annually."


Italy residents will have the opportunity to run for three two-year positions on the Italy City Council or a seat with a term to expire in one year.Applications for the three two-year terms are due Friday, Feb. 17, while the fourth place will be elected through a special election with packets due by March 6.

Italy residents will have the opportunity to vote for seats currently held by Italy Mayor Steven Farmer, council member Troy Kowalsky and a position on the board left vacant by Henry Wortman after his resignation. Paul Shearin's seat is the place on the board that will be available through the special election for a term to last one year.

According to the City of Italy website, Kowalsky currently serves on the boards of streets and water.

As for the Italy ISD Board of Trustees, candidate packets for three seats are due to the Italy ISD Administration Office by 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 17. The office is located at 300 College Street.

Vice-president Larry Creighton, along with Tessa South and Cortney Janek are the board members with expiring terms.


Ennis voters will take to the polls to elect a mayor pro tem and Ward 2 and 4 commissioners. Each will serve a three-year term.

According to an official election announcement issued by the City of Ennis, applicants must be 18 years of age, a Unites States citizen, a qualified voter of the city, be free from all debts and taxes due to the city, and must have resided within the city limits for at least two years. Applications are due to Ennis City Secretary Angie Wade by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17. City Hall is located at 115 W. Brown Street in Ennis.

"All registered voters in the city of Ennis may vote for the mayor pro tem. Residents of Ward 2 and Ward 4 may vote for their respective candidates," the press release states. "Anyone not currently registered to vote has until April 6th to register in order to cast a ballot in the May 6th election. Voter registration applications may be obtained at [Ennis] City Hall."

Two positions are up for election on the Ennis ISD Board of Trustees. Kelly McManus and Jennifer Haden are nearing the end of their terms on the board in Place 1 and 2, respectively.


Travis M. Smith, @Travis5mith

(469) 517-1470