The annual Waxahachie High School Coronation will be held at 7 p.m.  Saturday, Feb. 19 at the Waxahachie High School Fine Arts Center. 

The annual black tie event is a tradition at WHS and dates back to 1958.  This year’s theme is “Some Enchanted Evening.”

Coronation Court nominees are chosen by their teachers based on their responsibility, leadership, and involvement in school and community activities.  Nominees are then voted on by their peers. 

The 2011 Coronation Court is as follows:

The ninth grade coronation court consists of Molly Jeffcoat, Andrea McLachlan, Savannah Summers, Tierney Thomison, Carolynn Van Zandt, Coleman Beddingfield, Michael High, Stetson Kinnison, Caleb Neal and Corey Simmel.

Representing the sophomore class are Marisa Price, RoSandra Acosta, Callie Bigham, Alexandra Meade, Taylor Molengraaf, Luke Calvert, Scott Quintana, Christian Canafax, Daniel Erickson and Ethan Craig.  

Junior class nominees are Kate Praslicka, Maddie Devore, Cara Partington, Kelsey Peyrot, Bridget Reid, Max Mills, Don King III, Drew Morgan, Tanner Kirk and Johnny Kennedy.

Representing the senior class are Krista Minton, Caitlyn Woodhouse, Kristi Clem, Morgan Calvert, Caroline Clifton, Natalie Kelly, Melinda Louque, Haley Nutt, Rebecca Bousquet, Hannah Ritchie, Eric Henry, Stephen Erickson, Taylor Wright, Chase Colwell, Cameron Phillips, Ryan Popp, Jeremy Quintana, James Mann, Allen Hogan and Andrew Zimmerman.                                                  

During the ceremony, a Duke and Duchess will each be named for the freshmen and sophomore classes along with a Prince and Princess for the junior class. 

A king and queen will be named for the senior class along with the highly anticipated naming of Mr. and Ms. WHS.

Tickets for the event will be sold at the door.  Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students. Following the ceremony, refreshments will be served. 

For more information on the 2011 Coronation Court, contact Waxahachie High School at 972-923-4600.