Thirteen Ellis County Sheriff’s Office Explorers have been awarded the President’s Volunteer Service Award for the volunteer hours they did during 2015. The President’s Volunteer Service Award is a national program open to all U.S. citizens and legal residents.

The awards are based on the recipient’s age and the number of volunteer hours served in a calendar year. Each of the Explorers received a challenge coin, a certificate of completion and a letter from President Obama thanking them for their service.

Gold Award honors were received by Explorers Everett Bias, Noel Campbell and Sgt. Shelby Snodgress.

Silver Award honors were received by Explorers Jon Anthony, Capt. Gage Adams and Trevor Snodgress.

Bronze Award honors were received by Explorers Matthew Aguilar, Isaiah Bias, Courtney Cline, Cpl. Nadir Garcia, Remigio Gomez, Lt. Ross McRee and Cpl. Brandy Slusher.

The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation administers the awards program, which was established in 2003 and continues as an initiative of the Corporation for National and Community Service.

In the past three years, members of the Ellis County Sheriff’s Office’s Explorer Post, including the adult advisors, have provided 5,884 hours of community service.