The Waxahachie girls soccer team had another great year. But the team also came away feeling a bit unsatisfied.

For the fourth time in five years, the team reached the Regional Semifinals and once again could get no further.

The dramatic playoff run came to an end in a similar fashion to 2013, with a loss to Highland Park at Carrollton’s Standridge Stadium.

What makes this year’s exit even tougher is the number of seniors the team had. The squad had eight players in their final season in green and white, many of which had contributed since their sophomore seasons. For the first time in school history, the team won four straight district titles.

The district title was secured with a victory against Red Oak in the finale. That wasn’t the final accomplishment for the team as 11 players took home all-district awards and even coach Jason Venable was named coach of the year.

Senior forward Tierney Thomison won the MVP award for the second year in a row. She was one of the most feared players in the district as she could use her speed to get past just about any defender and led the team in scoring.

Junior defender Aeriel Horton was named the defensive MVP for the district. There was little doubt this award would go to a Waxahachie player. The team only allowed two goals all of district play and one was on a penalty kick. Horton was a physical force in the backline of Lady Indians.

Freshman forward Abigail Martinez earned the Newcomer of the Year award for her great play in her first year on varsity. While defenses had to worry about Thomison, Martinez was right there to capitalize on her good match ups. She led the team in assists and was top-five in goals.

Waxahachie also got first-team caliber performances from five players. Millie Atkins, Karleigh Hector, Mackenzie Posey, Hailey David and Elizabeth Gish all took home first-team awards. Only Posey out of that group isn’t a senior.

David played great defense, Gish excelled in her first year as a starting goalie, Atkins could do it all and Hector played with a “bulldog-like” mentality as she was aggressive in her pursuit of scoring chances.

Posey is a junior, but had her share of veteran moments in her career already. She was second on the team in scoring out of the midfield position and she scored the game’s only goal in the Lady Indians’ Regional Quarterfinal victory.

Rounding out the all-district awards for Waxahachie are second-team honors for Marybeth Martin, Michelle Fotherhingham, Belle Prachyl and Mica Mottla. Martin and Mottla were stallwarts on the defensive side of the ball as seniors this year.

Fotheringham is a sophomore and the only player to receive any all-district award without being a starter. She came off the bench and did anything she could to help the team. With eight players graduating, she figures to get plenty of minutes next year.

Prachyl played every game this year as a freshman on the Lady Indians’ dominating defense. She shows plenty of potential and will only get better as she gets more experience.

The Lady Indians finished with a (17-3-4) record and didn’t record a loss between Jan. 18 and April 11. During that stretch, the team went (14-0-2).

Individual Award Winners

MVP: Tierney Thomison, Waxahachie

Offensive MVP: Biatris Arevelo, Red Oak

Defensive MVP: Aeriel Horton, Waxahachie

Goalie of the Year: Lauren Eschelman, Red Oak

Utility Player of the Year: Carly English, Red Oak

Newcomer of the Year: Abigail Martinez

Coach of the Year: Jason Venable, Waxahachie

First-Team All-District

Waxahachie: Millie Atkins, Karleigh Hector, Mackenzie Posey, Hailey David and Elizabeth Gish

Red Oak: Laura Atzeni, Averi Walker, Mariah Sweeney and Victoria Garza

Ennis: Meredith Velasquez

Ferris: Kassie Duenas and Jazsmin Coronado

Corsicana: Jenny Garcia and Alex Bland

Lancaster: Markisia Price

Second-Team All-District

Waxahachie: Marybeth Martin, Michelle Fotheringham, Belle Prachyl and Mica Mottla

Red Oak: Devan Almaguer, Morgan Fairbanks, Keylee Delarosa and Gabby Veneziale

Ennis: Lauren Hughes and Emma Lane

Ferris: Jessika Coronado and Briana Garcia

Corsicana: Cindy Turrubiartes, Elizabeth Castaneda, MaKenzi Taylor and Marisol Miranda

Lancaster: Celeste Espinosa