The Waxahachie Lady Indians season was overall a success.

Sure, the 10 seniors had state title aspirations, but it’s extremely difficult to make it to the Sweet 16 round of high school volleyball for a fifth straight seasons. Not a whole lot of schools can say that.

The team also won an outright district title for the first time since 2009.

For their efforts this year, the Lady Indians received the most superlative awards in 15-4A. Of the 10 superlatives, Waxahachie got at least a share of six of the awards.

Senior middle blocker Sorrel Barnes took home the Hitter of the Year award for the district. She missed three weeks of the season, including four district games, due to an illness, but when she came back she was unstoppable. 

She finished with 152 kills, 47 stuff blocks and 68 digs. Barnes helped the team a lot during the playoff run by improving her serving game.

Senior outside hitter Courtney Miller was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year. A knee injury cost her almost seven weeks of the season, including half of the district games, but she is so good when she plays that she couldn’t be ignored.

Miller finished with 263 kills, 184 digs and 15 aces. She will be continuing her volleyball career at the University of North Florida.

Senior libero Celi Bruce took home the Defensive Player of the Year award. She set the school record for digs in a season with 835 and had 35 aces.

Senior setter Mary Kate Clark earned the Setter of the Year award. Clark was one of the team’s most versatile players as she could serve, block, dig and shoot. That prowess on the court earned her a scholarship to the University of Texas- Pan American. Clark had 660 kills, 241 digs, 125 digs and 29 aces.

Junior outside hitter Aeriel Horton was named the Co-Server of the Year. Horton’s jump serve helped her set a school record this year as she served every point in a 25-0 set victory against Lancaster. She finished with 55 aces and 371 digs. Horton had 25 aces in just 14 district matches.

The Waxahachie coaching staff also took home the Staff of the Year award. This typically goes to the district champion and the Lady Indian coaches definitely earned the award by leading the Lady Indians to the Regional Semifinals once again.

While those were the only player to earn superlatives, just about the entire team earned honors of some kind. Molly Jeffcoat and Ellen Platt were named to the district’s first team.

Jeffcoat, a senior defensive specialist, had 428 digs, 387 serve receives and 30 aces. Platt, a junior middle blocker, racked up 202 kills, 55 blocks and 68 digs. She did a little bit of everything for the team this season.

Outside hitters Lisa Trevino, a senior, and Lyndsey Griffith, a junior, both made the district’s second team.

Trevino was the definition of steady this season for the Lady Indians and played great in the playoffs. She had 262 kills, 129 digs and 18 blocks.

Griffith actually led the team in kills with 268 and had 157 digs. When Miller and Barnes were down with injuries, Griffith stepped up in a big way and proved she can be one of the key offensive players for the team next season.

Senior setter Shelbie Tucker and junior middle blocker Lauren Atkins earned All-District Honorable Mention honors. Tucker was second on the team in assists with 516 and she had 346 digs to go with 44 aces. Atkins was the team’s top blocker this year with 101 and had 143 kills. She will be another key player next year.

Emma Hinds, Jordyn Wiggins, Summer Stevens, Atkins, Jeffcoat, Trevino and Tucker all earned Academic All-District honors.

Red Oak had the district’s Most Valuable Player in senior Elyse Berlin and Libero of the Year in senior Avery Walker. Mansfield Legacy had the Newcomer of the Year in Shelby Stewart and Co-Offensive Player of the Year in Samantha Eaton.

Mansfield Lake Ridge’s Murielle Hlavac was Co-Server of the Year with Horton. Mansfield Summit’s Ari Baker earned Blocker of the Year.


First Team 15-4A

Red Oak: Chloe Davis, Lauren White and Lindsey Boyce

Mansfield Summit: Sarah Williams and Xariah Williams

Mansfield Legacy: Jasmine Jones and Amanda Lanter


Second Team 15-4A 

Red Oak: Rhalyn Ford and Haley Chaddick

Mansfield Summit: Lejla Camdzic

Mansfield Legacy: Kelsey Rombach

Mansfield Lake Ridge: Aubrey Ridgway


Honorable Mention 15-4A

Red Oak: Kayllee Yetts

Seguin: Alarie Mayze and  Jessica Ochoa

Lancaster: Taylor Crowe and Frecrika Aubrey

Mansfield Lake Ridge: Colbi Bennerr and Carlise Redmond

Ennis: Tayler Lenz-Selvera and Jackie Murphy 

Mansfield Legacy: Rebecca Storms  and Brittni Bell

Mansfield Summit: Alex Campbell and  Courtney Anderson


Academic All-District

Red Oak: Lindsey Boyce, Elyse Berlin, Haley Chaddick, Callie Coleman, Chloe Davis, Averi Walker, Lauren White and Kaylee Yetts

Arlington Seguin: Chelsea Clemons, Alexandria Hoang and Aubrey Ridgeway 

Lancaster: Fre’drika Aubrey, Taylor Crowe, Deja Starks and Michaela Johnson

Mansfield Lake Ridge: Josannah Vaszquez, Lauren Johnson, Erika Styne, Murielle Hlavac, Ann Meiners and Colbi Bennett

Ennis: Morgan Hopkins and Katelyn Cathey-Johnson 

Mansfield Legacy: Brittny Bell, Casey McKean, Amanda Lanter, Mandy Ramirez, Kelsey Rombach, Bethany Ross, Shelby Stewart, Kara Tegze and Shelby Strauser

Mansfield Summit: Kristin Starling, Alia Taylor, Kayrin Wells, Hannah Romaguera, Arianna Baker, Claire West, Courtney Anderson, Xariah Williams, Lejla Camdzic and Veronika Webb.