FLORENCE, Ala. (AP) -Chadron State senior tailback Danny Woodhead won the Harlon Hill Trophy on Friday night, the second straight year he has been honored as the nation's top NCAA Division II player.

Woodhead received 175 total points in the voting and held a commanding 53-point margin over Abilene Christian junior running back Bernard Scott.

The award is the division's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy and was presented in front of a crowd of 400 at the 22nd annual Harlon Hill Trophy award banquet on the eve of the national championship game between Northwest Missouri State and Valdosta State.

Woodhead is the third player who has won the Hill Trophy twice, joining three-time winner Johnny Bailey of Texas A&M-Kingsville (1987-89) and Valdosta State's Dusty Bonner (2000-01).

Woodhead, a Hill candidate for the fourth straight season, broke the NCAA all-division's career rushing record with 7,962 yards and his 9,479 career all-purpose yards put him No. 2 in college football history.

Scott had 122 points and 25 first-place votes, while Delta State senior linebacker Michael Eubanks was third with 100 points and 12 first-place votes.

Eubanks became just the second defensive player in the award's history to finish in the top three in the final voting.

Harlon Hill was a former North Alabama player who starred for the Chicago Bears.