For the third consecutive year Waxahachie’s Danielle Calhoun was named the girls team MVP at the year-end tennis banquet.

Calhoun has advanced to the regional tournament for two straight seasons and looks to go even further as a senior in 2011-12.

Justin Miller was named the boys team MVP for the second straight year and returns next season looking to make a trip to regionals after qualifying as an alternate this season.

The Tennis Booster Club Scholarship and the Kevin Waskow Memorial Scholarship were awarded to senior Marissa Rodriguez.

Jonathan Cooper and Savannah Summers each earned Team Player Award honors while Elliot Frey and Kendall Burks were named Most Improved.

Overall the Waxahachie tennis program enjoyed one of its most successful seasons under the direction of coach Perry Nutt in 2010-11 and expect to have an even better year next season with several key players returning.