AUSTIN (AP) The Texas Longhorns got the top seed Monday for the NCAA baseball tournament that will include six other teams from the Lone Star State.

The Longhorns (41-13-1), the Big 12 tournament champions, join Baylor, Rice, Sam Houston State, Texas A&M, TCU and Texas State in the 64-field tournament that begins Friday. The Longhorns are among 16 regional hosts for the first round, along with TCU and Rice.

Texas is pursuing its seventh national title and first since 2005, the last time the Longhorns made it to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Texas State (41-15) joins Texas in the Austin regional and will play Boston College (33-24) in the double-elimination format. The Longhorns will open against Army (34-19).

Rice (39-15) plays Sam Houston State (36-22) in the first round of the Houston regional. TCU (36-16) faces Wright State (33-28) in the Fort Worth regional, which also includes Texas A&M (36-22) against Oregon State (35-17).

Baylor (29-24) is the state's only team sent outside Texas for the first round. The Bears begin the tournament in Baton Rouge, La. against Minnesota (38-17).

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press.