COLLEGE STATION, Texas (AP) Mississippi's Devin Britton and Ohio State's Steven Moneke each won tight matches Sunday to advance to Monday's men's singles final in the NCAA Division I tennis championship.

On the women's side, Miami's Laura Vallverdu outlasted Georgia freshman and No. 8 seed Chelsey Gullickson in three sets to set up a final with Duke's Mallory Cecil, who rolled past Vallverdu's teammate, Julie Cohen, 6-1, 6-0.

Britton won a first-set tiebreaker 10-8 over Arkansas' Blade Strode and then broke Strode's serve twice late in the second set to reach the finals 7-6, 6-4.

Moneke appeared to be cruising against Virginia's Sanam Singh, winning the opening set 6-1 and going up 4-2, but he never won again in the second set. The senior then broke Singh twice to start the deciding set and held on for a 6-1, 4-6, 6-4 victory.

Vallverdu and Gullickson went back and forth before having to sit nearly two hours at 3-3 in the third set because of a rain delay. Gullickson came out and won the next game, before Vallverdu finished off the match by winning the final three games.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press.