Waxahachie’s cross country team held its season-end banquet Monday to honor its runners with awards.

The top two awards went to Tyler Federwisch and Monica Jaramillo as the boy and girl runners of the year.

Jaramillo was consistently one of the top two finishers for the Lady Indians and, as a junior, will have a chance to get back to regionals next year.

“This is the second year in a row Monica has won the award,” head coach Joni Vaughan said. “We’re excited about getting her for another year and hopefully we can get her back to the regional met next year. She was consistent for us all year long.”

Federwisch, also a junior, entered the season looking for a second straight trip to the regional meet, but ran into bad luck at the district meet.

“Although he had some bad luck at district, he consistently had the best times and medaled once,” Vaughan said. “We’re looking forward to another successful year from him next year.”

Jerrica Jaramillo and Rebecca Chagnon were honored with the Fighting Heart Award for the girls team. Chagnon, a sophomore, was also named the team’s Newcomer of the Year.

For the boys team, Will Phillips and Donald Kirschner were awarded the Fighting Heart Award.

Phillips, a senior, was forced to sit out most of the season with an injury before returning to run in the district meet.

The team returns most of its runners as it losses only four boys and two girls.