In a shocking turn of events on Tuesday, all three of the District 16-4A baseball teams were eliminated in the playoffs.

Waxahachie fell to No. 9 Texas High, 3-0, while Midlothian fell to Henderson, 2-0, and No. 7 Hewitt Midway lost to Hallsville, 2-1.

As close as all three games were, it makes room to wonder what would have happened if the UIL had not put the season on hold for the swine flu. If the District 16-4A teams were allowed to play a complete series what could have happened?

With the playoff exit by all of the district teams, the all-district team was announced.

Waxahachie’s Colton Cain was named District 16-4A MVP for his performance both on the mound and at the plate.

Cain batted .400 on the season with 10 homeruns, 32 RBI and 26 walks. He posted an on-base percentage of .544. On the mound the senior was 6-2 with 118 strikeouts and an ERA of 2.17.

Midway’s Todd Glaesmann, a senior, was named the offensive player of the year while Midlothian catcher Rick Stover was named the defensive player of the year.

Pitcher of the year was awarded to Brody Walker of Midway while newcomer of the year went to Matthew Kent, a sophomore from Midway.

Coach of the year was awarded to Corsicana’s Billy Harlan.

A unanimous choice for first team pitcher was Waxahachie’s Drew Harrison.

In his first full season on the mound, the senior was 7-0 with a 2.52 ERA. He posted one save and struck out 66 batters while walking 14.

At the plate Harrison batted .364 with four homeruns, 24 RBI and posted an on-base percentage of .505.

Waxahachie leadoff hitter and senior outfielder Mervyn Salas was named to the first team as an outfielder along with Midlothian’s Taylor Goss and Dillon Foster and Midway’s Jared Lummus.

Salas batted .380 and posted an on-base percentage of .485. He had 30 hits, two homeruns and 19 RBI.

A sophomore, Kyle McLeroy was named first team designated hitter for the Indians.

He batted .324 in the regular season with two homeruns and 18 RBI.

Sophomore third baseman Cody Brown was named to the second team all-district squad for Waxahachie.

Honorable mention awards for Waxahachie were Nathan Schmidt, Zach Hopson and Matt Davis.

Waxahachie finished the season with a 23-8 overall record as bi-district champs.

“I think all the guys we had on the list were very deserving,” Waxahachie head baseball coach Tracy Wood said. “I do think we should have had some more guys on there. We came in second in district and lost to the same team twice. I thought we could have had more kids on there but it is not a perfect process.”

Coaches from each team nominate their players and it is up to the other coaches in the district to vote each player on the team. Coaches cannot vote for their own players, but they present the stats up for the other coaches to vote via secret balloting.