PALMER – The Palmer City Council approved an interlocal agreement with the city of Garrett by a 4-1 vote during its meeting this week. Councilman Tony Roybal abstained from the vote.

The discussion began with City Administrator Doug Young telling council members the police chief of Garrett contacted Palmer’s chief asking for assistance with animal control services.

Both councilmen Jeff Vick and Roybal said the city has enough to take care of without taking on any other responsibilities.

“This would be an emergency-type situation only,” Young said.

“I would urge the city to enter into the agreement to be good neighbors to help where we can,” Mayor Lance Anglin said.

Young said Palmer is equipped to handle animal emergencies, whereas Garrett is not. “They are a very small town with very little equipment,” he said.

Questions came from the council if the city would be reimbursed for any services rendered.

“It’s billable time. We would send them a bill for the services and equipment and expenses the city would incur,” Anglin said.

Another agenda item that brought discussion related to a policy to provide compensatory time to the police chief, sergeant, public works director and city secretary.

Much of the discussion concerned if the extra time spent by an employee was a part of his or her regular duties. The sentiment of some was if the extra time spent was for regular duties, then the employee was not eligible for the time off.

“I want to be fair to our employees. The council needs to make a decision how they treat employees with this policy,” Young said.

Councilman Greg Penny said the council could continue with the current policy with policy definitions and guideline recommendations.

The council unanimously approved Penny’s motion. Besides establishing limits on hours an employee can accumulate, the time has to be approved by the city administrator or a department head.

After the regular agenda items, Municipal Judge Sue Schmidt administered the oath of office to Anglin and council members Kenneth Bateman and Dianne Drewery, all of whom were re-elected in the May election.