During the month of November, Waxahachie ISD elementary students participated in the annual Christmas card design contest. School board trustees honored the 11 finalists and overall winner at their December meeting.

The finalists included Patricia Del Horno of Dunaway Elementary; Brigitte Sierra, Jill Seals and Whitney Volentine of Northside Elementary; Anna Wilhoite of Shackelford Elementary; Sebastian Eckeberger, Dastiny Walker, Lillian Raley, Michael Gutierrez, Andrea Ramos and Heriberto Gonzalez of Wedgeworth Elementary; with Katy Hay of Dunaway Elementary named overall winner.