AVALON — The accolades from a stellar spring baseball season continued to roll in for four Avalon Eagles after the Texas Sports Writers Association announced its all-state recipients.

Alex Hernandez, Clayton Hopgood and Rhett Newton found themselves on the Texas Sports Writers Association (TSWA) 1A All-State first team, while Dylan Chambers received a nod to the second team.

Avalon finished the 2016 season with a 25-5 record after falling to eventual state champion, Abbott, in three games during the 1A Regional Semifinals.

Newton was previously named the District 15-2A Newcomer of the Year after he led the ballclub with 34 hits, 30 RBIs and a .466 batting average in 73 at-bats. He also drew 18 base-on-balls to just two strikeouts and scored 28 runs.

Hernandez, Hopgood and Chambers were all District 15-2A first team honorees.

Hopgood slugged nine doubles on his way to driving in 20 runs and scoring 26 more, while Chambers scored 29 runs and collected four doubles. On the mound, Hernandez finished the season with an unblemished 9-0 record in his 44.2 innings pitched. He added 46 strikeouts and boasted a 2.51 ERA.

*Portions of this article first appeared in previous Daily Light reports.