‘A Night Under the Stars’

Meals-on-Wheels of Johnson and Ellis Counties presents “A Night Under the Stars” kickoff celebration for the kitchen campaign Saturday, March 28, at TXI Railport in Midlothian, where the new regional kitchen facility will be located.

The special guest will be Congressman Joe Barton, who will serve as honorary chairman of the Meals-on-Wheels “Kitchen Cabinet.”

For more information, call 817-558-2840 or 972-351-9943. Visit online at www.servingthechildrenofyesterday.org.

Relay For Life

Relay For Life of Central Ellis County will celebrate the 25th anniversary of the American Cancer Society fundraiser from 7 a.m. May 15 to 7 a.m. May 16 at Waxahachie ISD Lumpkins Stadium.

For more information, contact event chairman Denise Owens at 972-742-3982 or dowens@comerica.com; event co-chairman Deede Morris at 214-236-3041 or deedemorris@winnmeat.com; team chairman Nancy Edwards at 972-937-7950 or nedwards@wisd.org; team mentor youth Brittany Villanueva or brittnvill_09@yahoo.com; survivor chairman Karen Mathiowetz at 972-483-7434 or mathiowetz@sbcglobal.net; sponsorship Kelly Saunders at ksaunders@tbhc.org; luminaria Kenny Morris at 214-236-3041 or deedemorris@winnmeat.com; Webmaster Stephanie Poe at 972-740-8672 or stephaniepoe@sbcglobal.net.

Navarro announces scholarship fundraiser

Navarro College has announced plans for a scholarship fundraiser, Brilliance, in Ellis County in April.

In its inaugural year, the theme for Brilliance will be “Great Expectations: Setting the Standard for Higher Education in Ellis County.” The funds raised will go toward scholarships benefitting students from all Ellis County communities.

Hosted at the Midlothian Conference Center, guests will partake in a gourmet dinner and silent and live auctions. The majority of support will come from corporate table sponsorships and individual ticket sales.

The fundraiser is intended to involve the community in helping to support both high school students who are attending Navarro College through dual credit courses and also Navarro College freshman and sophomore students who need financial assistance in realizing their educational goals.

The April 18 event will be a black-tie optional affair and feature artwork and entertainment from various Ellis County High School art and music departments.

For more information on how to be involved, contact Casey Ballard at casey.ballard@gmail.com.

Gingerbread House annual chili cook-off and barn dance

The Gingerbread House will host its annual chili cook-off and barn dance Friday-Sunday, Feb. 6-8, at the Ellis County Expo Center in Waxahachie.

The event features three days of CASI-sanctioned chili cook-offs, novice and bean cook-offs, junior chili cook-off, celebrity mechanical bull riding and a dance and prime rib dinner Saturday evening.

Silent and live auctions also are slated for Saturday evening.

For sponsorship information, tickets, table reservations, donations and volunteer opportunities, call 972-937-1870 or e-mail john.eccac@ectisp.net.