Members, parents and friends of the Ellis County 4-H program gathered recently for the annual awards and recognition banquet at the Waxahachie Ninth Grade Center.

Hosted by the club officers, the evening included recognition of accomplishments and a catered pork loin dinner prepared by the Mark Arnold family.

The theme for the celebration was “Have a ball through 4-H.”

Each year, a memorial award is presented to a 4-H member in recognition of leadership and outstanding accomplishments in public speaking.

Presenting the Dennis Turner Memorial to Daniel Craig was Sue Turner. As part of the award, Craig received a scholarship.

Joshua Howard and Lydia Craig were recipients of the Adult Leadership Association Scholarships.

When a 4-H member reaches age 11, he or she may begin working on the 4-H All Star Award, with this year’s recipients named as Sky Broadway, Melanie Craig, Eric Hedtke, Annabelle Malinowski and Dylyne Rhody.

Each year, the Ellis County 4-H presents rookie of the year honors to members who meet specific requirements, with this year’s honorees named as Seda Broadway, Zachary Brown, Paul Carr, Philip Carr, Aaron Dobyns, Rachael Edgar, Cordell Hill, Trey Hestrin, Cara Johnson, Jordan Leggett, Matthew Lawson, Olivia Lawson, Tate Lee, Annabelle Malinowski, Caleb Malinowski, Henry Malinowski, Austin Sillavan, Dakotah VanHuss, Bernadette Washington, Clare Washington, Katherine Washington and Maria Washington.

The Letterman Award, presented to senior members ages 14-19, was awarded to Ashley Granzin, Trevor Granzin and Rebekah Jackson, each of who had to fulfill requirements during a time frame of one to three years.

The 4-H Honor Roll is given to members, ages 8-11, who also have to fulfill a set of requirements within a specified time frame. Meeting the requirements were Rylan Dunham, Matthew Lawson, Tate Lee, Jordan Leggett, Caleb Malinowski and Jason Rodge.

The highlight of the awards presentation each year is the naming of the Bronze, Silver and Gold Star winners as well as the Danforth I Dare You Award.

Earning the highest honor were Gold Star recipients Ashley Granzin and Alex Hedtke.

Receiving Silver Stars were Jason Rodgers and Sky Broadway.

Receiving Bronze Stars were Justin Chomicki and Rylan Dunham.

This year, the Danforth I Dare You awards were presented to Sky Holman and Trevor Granzin.

Ellis County Commissioner Heath Sims made the presentations as ag extension agent Page Bishop made the announcements.

New officers for the coming year were installed: Rebekah Jackson, president; Sky Holman, first vice president; Benjamin Terry, second vice president; Daniel Craig, secretary; Sara Heinzman, reporter; Sierra Johnson, sergeant-at arms; and Sara Heinzman, council delegate.