January is School Board Recognition Month and Red Oak ISD is joining school districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their commitment and contributions to our public schools.

“The Red Oak ISD School board members serve countless hours working to provide the very best education for our kids,” said Red Oak ISD Superintendent Dr. Scott Niven. “In a climate of change and challenge, they develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues that affect the entire community and the lives of individual students. Their visionary leadership will positively impact generations of Hawks to come.”

The 2013-2014 Red Oak ISD School Board Members are President Henry Lozano, Vice-President Lynne Grandstaff, Secretary John Anderson, Assistant Secretary Dr. Joy Shaw, Member John Hawkins, Member Dr. Mark Stanfill and Member Barb Vogler.

In December 2013, the Red Oak ISD School Board was honored by the Texas Association of School Boards for being one of only 40 districts in the state to obtain 100 percent leadership team attendance at their annual Leadership Convention. Each year, board members and superintendents are required to complete continuing education courses. As of December 2013, the Red Oak ISD School Board and Superintendent earned a cumulative 191.25 hours of continuing education, each exceeding their individual requirements.

“In public schools, great leadership always begins with a willingness to do what is right for kids. The Red Oak ISD School Board exemplifies this model and supports the efforts of educators across the district. Please join us as we applaud these local leaders for truly caring about our kids,” said Dr. Niven.