The Texas Sports Writer’s Association announced their All-State teams this week, thanks to its primary sponsor Collin Street Bakery.

The Waxahachie Indians were represented by senior shortstop David Martinelli on the Honorable Mention squad.

Martinelli was named the 15-4A’s defensive player of the year this year. He had a knack for making the difficult plays look routine and had a .949 fielding percentage, which is sparkling for a shortstop. 

While he didn’t win any awards for his bat, he was probably the team’s best all-around hitter as he finished with a .416 batting average, six home runs, 25 RBIs, 32 runs, and three triples, all of which led the team. 

His top moment of the year actually came on the mound as he no-hit McKinney North, then the state’s No. 1 team, in the second round of the playoffs. He allowed three walks and struck out nine while twirling one of the most dominating performances in school history. Martinelli also hit a solo home run, which accounted for the night’s only run in the 1-0 victory at QuikTrip Ballpark in Grand Prairie.

The Dallas Baptist University commit pitched 40.67 innings and struck out 51 batters while earning four wins and five saves.


TSWA 4A First-Team

Pitchers - Kenneth Saenz, CC Moody, jr.; Austin Hagy, W.F. Rider, sr. ; Robert Dugger, Tomball, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Jake Rogers, Canyon, sr. and Michael Cantu, CC Moody, jr.

First baseman - Dillon Menville, Tomball, sr.

Second baseman - Eric Dunbar, Tomball, sr.

Shortstop - Ronnie Gideon, Hallsville, sr.

Third baseman - Edward Pena, Mission Veterans Memorial, soph.

Outfielders - Nick Banks, Tomball, sr.; Dayne Wunderlich, Brenham, sr.; Stephen Smith, Frenship, sr.

Designated hitter - (tie) Tanner Stierwalt, Boswell, sr. and David Pewenofkit, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.

Player of the year - Nick Banks, Tomball, sr.

Coach of the Year - Doug Rush, Tomball


TSWA 4A Second-Team

Pitchers - Dylan Schneider, Cleburne, soph.; Hunter Grounds, Corsicana, sr.; Ryan Cheatham, Whitehouse, jr.

Catcher - Tanner Devinney, Lovejoy, sr.

First baseman - Corey Pickens, Mansfield Summit, sr.

Second baseman – (tie) Julian Fernandez, Mission Veterans Memorial, sr. and Blaine Prescott, Amarillo, sr.

Shortstop - Anthony Lucas, Tomball, sr.

Third baseman - Jose Flores, Laredo Cigarroa, sr.

Outfielders - J.D. Garcia, CC Moody, sr.; Jonathan Groff, Medina Valley, jr.

Ryan Sluder, Amarillo, sr.

Designated hitter - Nathan Freitag, CC Tuloso-Midway, soph.


TSWA 4A Honorable Mention

Pitchers - Dylan Duarte, CC Calallen, soph.; Eric Dunbar, Tomball, sr. ; Dylan Ebbs, Santa Fe, sr.; Zach Files, Boswell, sr.; Brandon Gilson, Prosper, sr.; Grant Glaze, Canyon, sr.; Jonathan Groff, Medina Valley, jr.; Anthony Herrera, McKinney North, sr.; Patrick Mahomes, Whitehouse, jr.; Edward Pena, Mission Veterans Memorial, soph.

Catchers - Bryndan Arredondo, Frenship, sr.; Spencer Anderson, Longview Pine Tree, sr.; Ryan Bruning, Ft. Bend Ridge Point, sr.

First basemen - Patrick Donaho, Houston Stratford, sr.; Hunter Grounds, Corsicana, sr.; Trey Hicks, Georgetown, sr.; Brock Keener, Foster, jr.

Second basemen - Aaron Hernandez, CC Moody, soph.; Anthony Herrera, McKinney North, sr.; Will Swaim, Georgetown, sr.

Shortstops - Grant Devore, Frisco Wakeland, sr.;  Tyler Fowler, Cleburne, soph.; Garrett Hrozek, Montgomery, sr.; Riley Hood, Foster, soph.; Patrick Mahoms, Whitehouse, jr.; David Martinelli, Waxahachie, sr.

Third basemen - Lucas DuVal, Foster, sr.; Angel Gallardo, Boswell, jr.; Payton Geisinger, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.; Ricky Gonzalez, CC Moody, jr.

 Outfielders - Trent Dickens, Boswell, jr.; Dylan Ebbs, Santa Fa, sr.; Ishmael Edwards, Tomball, sr.; Blake Foster, Boswell, fr.; Hagen Fryrear, Kerrville Tivy, sr.; Travis Geiser, Gregory-Portland, sr. ; Mike Leal, CC Calallen, jr.; Sam McDonnell, Georgetown, sr.; Connor Parker, Foster, sr.; Nick Woodall, Cleburne, sr.

Designated hitter - Chris Gonzales, Alice, soph.