Waxahachie Rotarian


New officers were installed at the Rotary Club of Waxahachie annual meeting held at the Ellis County Woman’s Building. 

This is a special meeting for members and guests to remember the accomplishments of the past year, recognize individuals, plan for the future and install new board members. 

The event was catered by the College Street Pub & Restaurant and members brought side dishes and desserts.

Jerry Chapman stepped down after his very productive year as president. 

Many new projects were performed and infrastructure installed to support more. In addition, both fundraisers, the Cow Creek Country Classic Bike Ride and the U.S. Flag Subscription Program, were very successful. 

In his remarks Chapman dwelled on how this club and the Rotary program in general actually change lives. He mentioned several examples including member Nan Udell who hosted a Rotary Exchange Student from Brazil 13 years ago. A couple of weeks ago that student came from Brazil to Waxahachie to thank Nan for changing her life.

Chapman also introduced nine new Paul Harris Fellows. Each has contributed $1,000 to the Rotary Foundation and exemplifies the Rotary motto, “Service Above Self.” Some of them were first time Fellows and the club helped get them up to the requirement from a special fund for this purpose.

Incoming president Mike Fenton thanked the retiring board and reviewed Chapman’s accomplishmens then introduced his new board. 

Next year will continue the growth and success of this club into the future.

Secretary Melissa Ballard introduced all of those who have perfect attendance records topped by Rotarian Ralph Swallow who has perfect attendance for 57 years.

The new board and their positions are:

• Mike Fenton – President

• Jerry Chapman Past President – special projects

• Barry Moore President Elect 

• Melissa Ballard –Secretary and bike ride co-chair

• Judy Demoney – Treasurer

• Russell Clark – Director – Red Badge program and student liason

• David Hill – Director – community service

• Vicki Rowe – Director – New Generations programs

• Don Stroope – Director – flag program

• Mike Lee Director – bike ride co-chair

• Edwin Farrar Director – at large

• Layne Ballard Director – at large

• Mike Tull Director – at large

 For more information about the Rotary Club of Waxahachie where we believe in “Service above Self” and doing things as a club we cannot do alone, visit the club website 

You can find the Flag Subscription application form there.