The Midlothian ISD School Board, staff, faculty and parents recognized the achievements of students Monday night at the semiannual student recognition ceremony.

School Board President Duke Burge opened the ceremony by noting that MISD has “all five pieces of the education puzzle.”

“Outstanding students, amazing staff and faculty, nice facilities, a supportive business community and most important of all dedicated parents. Midlothian has all five pieces,” Burge said.

Cross Country

First to be recognized was the Panther Girls and Boys Cross Country teams. Both teams were regional qualifiers and district runners-up. Girls team members honored include Riann Winget, Kelli Ricks, Sydney Rangel, Callie Dawson, Amanda Penwarden, Vanessa Mapes and Danielle Davidson.

Boys team members honored include Josh Tobolka, Keishi Mii, John Bales, Isaiah Wilson, Sean McComas and Roger Ward.

National AP Scholars

The National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars and National AP Scholars with Honor were then recognized. AP Scholars included Sydney Gaskins, Jake Go and Rachel Tanguma. AP Scholars with Honor were Rebecca Kahl and Winget.

“Midlothian High School had a total of 31 students honored as AP Scholars in which 26 students graduated this past year,” Director of Athletics Steve Keasler said. “Tonight, we have five seniors who took the test their junior year and earned the following recognition.”

To become an AP Scholar, students must score at least a 3 or higher on three or more AP subject exams. To be distinguished as an AP Scholar with Honor, students must receive at least a 3.25 on all AP exams taken with scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

Winget received two perfect scores of 5 on her psychology and world history AP exams.

Following the AP Scholars, Keasler announced the National Merit Commended Scholars which included Kahl, Elyse Schrader and Melissa Spross. These three students are among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students nationwide who entered the competition by take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Future Farmers of America

Next to be honored was the FFA Chapter members, many of whom were not able to attend the ceremony as they were preparing the ag barn for Monday night’s freezing temperatures. The chapter had four teams place as state qualifiers at the annual FFA State Leadership Contest.

The junior parlimentary procedure team included Cody Dowell, Niki Hall, Allison Johnson, Cathryn Macaluso, Aubry McKey, Austin Mossbarger, Reagan Rushing and Will Stewart. The senior parlimentary procedure team included Alicia Ahlman, Kyle Caldwell, Kevin Chappell, Ashley Hairston, Dustin Hlavinka, Clara Sterle, Kati Wickliffe and Candace Woolverton.

The junior skills demonstration team placed sixth in state and included Terreka Hoye, Wyatt Pustejovsky and Hannah Yarborough. The senior skills demonstration team included Hayden Otterman, Collin Stark and Max Wallace.


Head Football Coach Lee Wiginton recognized the Panther Football team for it’s accomplishment of earning the first 5A playoff berth in the school’s history.

Players who made Academic All-District included Austin Adams, Lawton Anderson, Brendan Cornell, Bryce Fausett, Collin Garcia, Brian Hammer, Will Marks, Dustin Martin, Jacob Montes, Malcolm Muckelroy, E.J. Muhammad, Najee Mustafaa, Brandon North, Jaylan Peoples, Aaron Schroeder, Caleb Shaw, Dustin Seeton, Justin Seeton, Cody Samek and A.J. Tulley.


Following the football team, the volleyball team was recognized for its accomplishment of being an area qualifier and placing third in district 7-5A.

Players that made first team all-district included Faith Hardin and Kelli Markwardt. Second team all-district included Meagan Jones, Mollie McBride and Courtney Tobolka. Honorable mentions were Ashton Rawlings and Keaton Shirk.

Players who made Academic All State included Hardin, Markwardt, Tobolka, Sara Waddill and AnaLisa Megill. Academic All-District players included Grace Bell, Hardin, Raegan Hydes, Markwardt, Megill, Tarin Mergener, Lexie Petty, Lauren Paschall, Madison Savage, Keaton Shirk, Tobolka, Waddill and Ashlynn Walton.

Superintendent Dr. Jerome Stewart closed the ceremony by remarking on the students’ amazing accomplishments, and though the sacrifice and dedication to achieve these recognitions is not always seen, it is very much worthy of recognition and honor.

Follow Aaron on Facebook at and on Twitter at Contact him at 469-517-1456 or